Archive for July 13th, 2008

13
Jul
08

Fire Exit Door

I get this call yesterday evening at work saying that the alarm is going off at the front door. I was pretty sure it was the emergency exit. It is a very loud alarm. I took my time walking up there. I asked customers if they needed help and stopped to talk to associates on my way. Like I said it is a very loud alarm. And yes, I did take a small amount of pleasure knowing that it was driving people crazy.

I finally made it up to the front, and 15 feet away from the door is a customer and her 2 kids looking at a rack of clothes. Both of the kids have their hands over their ears and the mom looked up at me and said “Are you gonna turn that thing off?” with a VERY nasty attitude. So I tell her “That’s what I’m up here for.”

Her kids start talking about the alarm and making smart comments like finally, etc… So I say it was no big deal, it was just the emergency exit door, and that it is not meant to be opened unless there is an emergency. And if it is opened an alarm goes off. Ummm, duh.

A few minutes later, I get called back up there and the lady says that my comments insinuated that her kids set the alarm off. So I had to tell her that I wasn’t…   blah blah blah blah.

Of course I was and of course they did.

First of all, that alarm is LOUD. No one with any common sense would willingly stand around it.

Secondly, I never directed my comments towards them. I was just educating them on the consequences of pushing a door that says ALARM WILL SOUND.

Thirdly, only guilty parties would question something like that. If they hadn’t, she probably would have walked off to go shopping another area while that alarm was going off, instead of acting stupid when I walked up there.

I promise you, it took me at least 5 minutes to get up there and turn it off.




Welcome to the BreakRoom

This is my place to let the world know how much crap (sometimes literally) the people who work retail have to put up with. Come back often and see what's being talked about in the BreakRoom.
July 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031